top of page

Web Conferencing in the Classroom

After my orientation day this past Thursday, I was informed that I will be teaching my students about Peru in Social Studies. Being a proficient technology user and integrator, I think it would be fun to use Skype as a supplement of learning for the unit. Because I myself have never been to Peru, web conferencing would be a great way to include the perspective of a Native Peruvian. I would use web conferencing to bring in a guest speaker. Students can be engaged with the conference through asking questions to the guest speaker or requesting tours of where that speaker is right now to get a feel for the environment and culture. This would be done at the end of their study of Peru, so that they can gathered what they have learned and compare it to the real-life experience the guest speaker currently lives.

Photo by Andres Urena on Unsplash

Here is a picture taken in Peru. Students can see the vibrancy of the the environment and compare it to what they see everyday. All the guest speaker has to do is take their mobile device and give a "tour" of their environment.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page