top of page

MediaSmarts Workshop Reflection

Three Key Concepts

- Powerdown

As a teacher, I need to be progressive and accept that change will come. What previous generations learned are quickly becoming outdated, with the introduction and continual use of technology. Skills such as mental math, writing, live presentations are not necessary with technology. There is not much that can't be done with it. On this note, children today are embracing technology in a way that even I don't understand. The use of technology enriches, entertains and relieves us in our daily lives. For students today, it may be hard to "power-down" from technology because it has become such an influential part in society. With everything being more accessible at the touch of a button, it can be hard to convince students to put technology away. As a teacher, I want to be able to use technology in my classroom in an engaging way that allows my students to learn. I want to teach them in a way where they can't have this type of teaching on the internet. I don't want them to power down, but I want them power wisely.

- Audience negotiates meaning

I already know this concept, but it still affects me hearing it again. I always come across people saying how "everyone's too sensitive nowadays." In some ways, that may be true, but I think that this concept can allow individuals to understand the mindset as to why some things that are viewed and represented by and on technology may be offensive. The example mentioned in the presentation, where in the TV show Glee there is an inaccurate representation of people who use wheelchairs, is part of an issue that people are now able to voice out. There are some things in the world that people may not realize will harm people, whether that is physically or through some other medium. I want my classroom to be a safe space for myself and my students. Phrases such as "Oh my God" or "You throw like a girl" can be offensive to a certain audience, and I think that my students should be taught consideration and context. I of course, will do or say things that I think is harmless but may be viewed differently for other people (for example, if I were to use the phrase "oh my God") and I want to be aware of the actions I take and ensure that my students feel safe.

- Barriers to participation are limited

This concept really scared me. There is so much information that is out in the world, many of it not necessarily accurate. Growing up, I believed a lot of what I read and saw. Chain emails and fake news were some things that I encountered on the internet and I would never stop to think of the source, and whether it was credible. Eventually, I learned to be wary of what I saw, and to appreciate but to look at things with a critical eye. I want to ensure my students learn this early on. There are so many dangers that are lurking online, and anyone with technology can put anything on the internet. That being said, I also look at this concept with an open mind. Because it's easier to participate, my students can further their learning through technology. Whether that be through uploading a video of a presentation to Youtube or creating a class blog, this lowered barrier can be used in such a way that empowers my students.

This presentation was a reminder of how powerful technology can be and the importance of knowing how to use it correctly.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page